हिंदी खबर

Bangladesh PM Hasina re-elected as Awami League president unopposed

| Updated: Oct 24, 2016 02:37 IST

Dhaka [Bangladesh], Oct.23 (ANI): Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina was re-elected unopposed as the president of the ruling Awami League for the eighth consecutive time on the closing day of the 20th National Council of the party. Road, Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader was elected as party general secretary for the first time. The two were elected by the councillors of the Awami League, the oldest political party of the country, unanimously in its 20th council as there were no other candidates for the two top party posts, reports Dhaka Tribune. Earlier, Hasina's name for the post of party president was proposed by the Awami League leader Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury, whereas Obaidul Quader's name as general secretary was proposed by Syed Ashraful Islam. Ashraf's proposal was seconded by party leader Jahangir Kabir Nanak. Hasina had first become the Awami League president in its council in 1981. Quader had been a former president of Bangladesh Chhatra League, the student associate body of Awami League, and served as the presidium member of the ruling party in its last committee. Earlier in the day, councillors had passed the amendments to the party constitution which was presented by Dr Abdur Razzak, convener of constitution sub-committee of the council. According to the amendment, the size of national committee has been increased to 180 in place of the existing 170. The meeting of the committee will now be held once a year instead of every six months. But if the party president desires the meeting will be held more than once a year. As per the amendments, the number of presidium members will be increased to 19, including party president and general secretary, from the existing 15 whereas that of joint secretaries to 4 from the existing three. Besides, there will be 8 organising secretaries in place of seven. Local Government Nomination Board consisting of 19-member will be there for party nomination in the local government bodies. (ANI)