New Zealand opening batsman Martin Guptill
New Zealand opening batsman Martin Guptill

Guptill set to return for Bangladesh ODIs

ANI | Updated: Feb 09, 2019 15:46 IST

London [UK], Feb 9 (ANI): Opening batsman Martin Guptill is all set to make a comeback after recovering from a back injury as he has been named in New Zealand’s 14-member squad for their upcoming three-match ODI series against Bangladesh.
The 32-year-old was ruled out of the T20I series against India due to an aggravated disc in his lower back. But now that Guptill has recovered, he is likely to play the first ODI against Bangladesh after going through a fitness test on Wednesday.
New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson has been rested for the final ODI of the three-match series with Colin Munro named as his replacement. In the captain’s absence, Tom Latham will be at the helm of the team in the final ODI.
BlackCaps chief selector Gavin Larsen expressed delight over Guptill’s comeback and acknowledged his “world-class” status as a player.
“We're delighted to have Martin back on the park for this series. He's a world-class player and an integral part of our one-day side,” ESPNcricinfo quoted Larsen, as saying.
“He and Henry did a good job opening up in Hamilton against India and they're a combination we want to see some more of in this series before Colin returns to the top for the third game with Kane resting,” he added.
In bowling, the New Zealand looked fully equipped with Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson and Matt Henry all included.
New Zealand and Bangladesh will play their first ODI on February 13 at the McLean Park followed by matches on February 16 and 20. The ODI series will be followed by three Test matches which are slated to be played on March 4, 12 and 20.
Following is the full New Zealand squad for the Bangladesh ODI series:
Kane Williamson (capt, games 1 and 2), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro (Game 3), Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Ross Taylor, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee. (ANI)