हिंदी खबर
West Indies batsman Devon Smith
West Indies batsman Devon Smith

Devon Smith recalled to Windies squad for Lanka Test series

ANI | Updated: May 25, 2018 13:14 IST

St John's [Antigua], May 25 (ANI): Top-order batsman Devon Smith has been recalled in the 13-man West Indies squad after a gap of three years for the three-match Test series against Sri Lanka, beginning June 6 at the Queen's Park Oval.
Uncapped wicketkeeper-batsman Jahmar Hamilton has also earned his maiden call-up in the national squad, becoming only the second Anguillan, behind Omari Banks to receive the nod.
Reflecting on the squad, chairman of selectors Courtney Browne said they have retained the core of the Test team as they have been performing well while Smith has been recalled in the wake of his outstanding year.
"We have retained the core of the Test team as they remain competitive even after a tough series in New Zealand. Devon Smith had an outstanding year and players who excel to that degree should be recognized. We are trying to improve our top order batting performances," Browne said.
Meanwhile, Browne said Hamilton has been roped in following his consecutive impressive performances over the past three years.
"Jamar Hamilton comes into the squad after consecutive strong performances over the last three years and showed even better quality in the A Team series against the England Lions. We wish the team every success," he said.
Batsmen Sunil Ambris and Jermaine Blackwood as well as all-rounder Raymon Reifer --who all made it to the West Indies' last Test assignment against New Zealand-- have all been left out of the Test squad.
Fast bowler Alzarri Joseph, who is currently recovering from a stress fracture in his back, has also been dropped.
The Sri Lanka series will also include the historic day-night Test, which will be final of the three-match series to be held at the Kensington Oval, Barbados from June 23 to June 27.
The complete West Indies Test squad is as follows:-
Jason Holder (capt), Devendra Bishoo, Kraigg Brathwaite, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich (wk), Shannon Gabriel, Jahmar Hamilton (wk), Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Kieran Powell, Kemar Roach, Devon Smith. (ANI)