Two TDP ministers resign from Modi cabinet

ANI | Updated: Mar 08, 2018 19:01 IST

New Delhi [India] March 8 (ANI): Two Union Ministers belonging to the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) resigned on Thursday from Prime Minister Narendra Modi cabinet.

Union Aviation Minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju and Union Minister of State for Science and Technology Y.S. Chowdary submitted their resignations to Prime Minister Modi.

In his resignation letter, Rajuu said, "I hereby resign from the union council of ministers with immediate effect. I request you to accept the same."

He also extended gratitude to the Prime Minister for the cooperation extended to him during his tenure as a member of the council of ministers.

In his resignation letter, Chowdary said he was resigning due to the prevailing public sentiment in his constituency and in adherence to the decision taken by TDP President N Chandrababu Naidu.

The ministers tendered their resignation a day after Chief Minister Naidu directed them to step down from the Union Cabinet.

The decision comes on the heels of ongoing tiff between the Centre and TDP over the allocation of fund in Union Budget 2018-19. (ANI)