हिंदी खबर

President confers Gallantry Awards in Delhi

ANI | Updated: Mar 28, 2018 00:01 IST

New Delhi [India], Mar. 27 (ANI): President Ram Nath Kovind on Tuesday presented Gallantry Awards and distinguished service decorations at the Defence Investiture Ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Kovind presented three Kirti Chakra, India's second highest military decoration and 17 Shaurya Chakra in the grand ceremony.

President Kovind honoured Kirti Chakra to Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) Commandant Chetan Cheetah.

The President also honoured 14 Param Vishisht Seva Medals, one Uttam Yudh Seva Medal and 21 Ati Vishisht Seva Medals for special and admirable services. These medals were announced on the eve of Republic Day.

Major Satish Dahiya (posthumous) of the National Rifle, Constable of Jammu and Kashmir Police, Ahmad Nayak (posthumously), Garuj Commando Sergeant Khairnar Milind Kishore (posthumous) of Air Force, Corporal Nilesh Kumar Nayan (posthumously), Chandan Kumar of CRPF, Constable Amarnath Mishra, Special Sub-divisional officer Surendra Singh, Madras Regiment's Sepoy Venkataravo Abotul , Aanndhr State assistant Assault Commander PT Rao, senior commandos, CGV Ramchandra Rao, Rifle of National Rifle, Arif Khan of National Rifle, Gunner Rishi Kumar Ray of the Regiment of Artillery, Lance Naik Badher Hussain of Jammu-Kashmir Light Infantry, Captain Abhinav Shukla of Special Force, Capt Rohit Shukla of National Rifles and Hav Mubarak Ali to Shaurya Chakra has been awarded.

Among the dignitaries present on the occasion were the Vice President of India, Prime Minister of India and Union Minister for Defence. (ANI)