Nominated BJP MLAs re-enter Puducherry Assembly

ANI | Updated: Aug 01, 2018 13:30 IST

Karaikal (Puducherry) [India], August 1 (ANI): Less than a month after the Supreme Court upheld the nomination of three Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLAs, the trio entered the State Assembly on Wednesday.
The three MLAs, V Saminathan, KG Shankar and S Selvaganapathy, were nominated by Lieutenant Governor Kiran Bedi without consulting Chief Minister V Narayanasamy.
However, the ruling All India NR Congress objected to the entry of the three MLA, following which the assembly was adjourned.
Saminathan, Shankar, and Selvaganapathy were nominated by Kiran Bedi last year but were allegedly denied entry into the state assembly.
The nominations were later challenged in the Madras High Court by All India NR Congress MLA Dhanalakshmi Narayan, who argued that the appointments were done without consulting the Puducherry Chief Minister.
However, the Madras High Court on March 22 upheld the appointment of the three MLAs and declared the nominations to be valid.
The Puducherry Congress MLAs then moved the Supreme Court regarding the validation of the nominations of the three MLAs by Kiran Bedi. (ANI)