हिंदी खबर
Visual from Maharashtra's Chandrapur district (Photo/ANI)
Visual from Maharashtra's Chandrapur district (Photo/ANI)

Maharashtra rains: SDRF personnel rescue people from flood-affected villages in Chandrapur

ANI | Updated: Jul 20, 2022 07:05 IST

Chandrapur (Maharashtra) [India], July 20 (ANI): State Disaster Response Fund (SDRF) personnel on Tuesday rescued villagers in flood-affected villages of Ghugus, Belsani and Soit in Warora in Maharashtra's Chandrapur district.

Notably, several districts of Maharashtra have been facing the aftermath of torrential rainfalls, this season, after which the government of Maharashtra has positioned 13 NDRF and three SDRF teams in several districts of the state.
On Monday, the flood situation in parts of Maharashtra's Wardha district remained grim as the region witnessed incessant rainfall with overflowing dams.

Earlier, an Orange alert has been issued for the districts Gadchiroli and Gondia by the Regional Meteorological Centre in Mumbai by predicting a thunderstorm and lightning with heavy to very heavy rain at isolated places.
As the flood situation continues to prevail in the Sironcha town of Maharashtra's Gadchiroli district, the lives of people have been badly impacted as large swathes of land remain inundated in water.
On Sunday, the National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) personnel carried out relief work in flood-affected areas in Gadchiroli and distributed various essential items among the people.
According to a report from Maharashtra State Disaster Situation Report Index on Saturday, a total of 102 lives were lost in the rain and flood-related incidents that struck Maharashtra since June 1.
As per the SDMD, the death toll of animals, so far, stood at 189. Around 11,836 persons were evacuated and 73 relief camps were set up in the state, the July 16 report of Maharashtra SDMD revealed.
At least 28 districts have been reported affected due to heavy rainfalls in the state including Pune, Satara, Solapur, Nashik, Jalgaon, Ahmednagar, Beed, Latur, Washim, Yavatmal, Dhule, Jalna, Akola, Bhandara, Buldhana, Nagpur, Nandurbar, Mumbai Sub, Palghar, Thane, Nanded, Amravati, Wardha, Ratnagiri, Sindhudurg, Gadchiroli, Sangli, and Chandrapur. (ANI)