हिंदी खबर
Rajkumar Hirani
Rajkumar Hirani

#MeToo: Filmfare nominates Rajkumar Hirani, netizens disapprove

ANI | Updated: Mar 13, 2019 22:32 IST

New Delhi [India], Mar 13 (ANI): Filmfare recently made its award nomination list public and while many B-town celebrities have been nominated for the upcoming award show, there is one name that irked netizens and that name is Rajkumar Hirani.
In 2018, Hirani was reportedly accused of allegedly sexually assaulting a female crew member while working on the Ranbir Kapoor starrer Sanjay Dutt biopic ‘Sanju’. The film happens to be the very project that had landed two nominations for the director.
Shortly after the nominations were announced on Wednesday, users took to Twitter to voice their objection over Filmfare nominating the Bollywood filmmaker in two categories stating that the director who is still under the lens should not have been nominated.
“Despite everything their audacity to nominate Rajkumar Hirani. @filmfare is a sellout and bonafide trash!” a Tweet read.

“So, Filmfare has nominated Rajkumar Hirani even when he has sexual harassment allegations against him and Mumbai Film Fest dropped Anurag Kashyap's short film which had no connection with Phantom or Vikas Bahl.” Wrote another user.

Another user tweeted, “Rajkumar Hirani named as the best director in Filmfare... I hope he's not going to parade proudly and he won't be rewarded, with the accusations of sexual harassment sticking him in the butt he should be small.”

Filmfare hey filmfare every major new outlet has covered the allegations against Rajkumar Hirani in #Metoo. Don't see any post on Twitter regarding you guys do films news right? Hypocrite much?” another user wrote.

'Sanju', which hit the big screens on June 29, rocked the box office as it earned a whopping Rs 120.06 crore in its opening weekend and ended up becoming the fifth highest grossing Hindi film of all time.
Written and directed by Rajkumar Hirani, 'Sanju' stars Ranbir as Sanjay Dutt, along with Manisha Koirala, Paresh Rawal, Dia Mirza, Sonam Kapoor, Vicky Kaushal, Jim Sarbh and Anushka Sharma in pivotal roles. (ANI)